Worldwide, 1.3 billion people have no access to energy. But is access to energy for all a reasonable aspiration at a time when ecological balance and biodiversity are under threat like never before?

For the ENGIE Foundation, the answer is not in doubt: yes, energy is a right for all! For no energy means no access to drinking water, no schools, no hospitals and little or no economic activity.

That said, universal access to energy has to be achieved in an environmentally-conscious way. To preserve the environment, it is essential to favour clean sources of energy… and to make citizens aware of environmental issues. This is exactly what the ENGIE Foundation aims to achieve through its commitment to access to energy for all and biodiversity.

The energy transition

The energy transition

Women's energy

Women's energy

Development assistance

Development assistance

Fighting global warming

Fighting global warming

Innovation

Innovation

Long-standing partners and flagship projects

The ENGIE Foundation works in close collaboration with NGOs, institutions and associations involved in promoting access to energy for all and biodiversity.

Since 2010, it has been present in Bangladesh, where it helps the NGO Friendship to install solar panels in the villages of the Brahmaputra. In Chile, it partners with the NGO Positive Planet to provide access to electricity in the slums of Santiago. With La Voix De l’Enfant, the ENGIE Foundation launched the flagship Schools, Lights and Rights project, which assists children in nine countries, including six in Africa.

On the environmental front, the ENGIE Foundation has been a partner to the French National Museum of Natural History for over a decade. Among other things, this has seen it sign an exclusive sponsorship contract with the Musée de l’Homme in 2015 for the Balcon des Sciences (a research centre on the relationship between humans and nature) and launch a call for projects for researchers on the subject of the resilience of societies to climate change.

« Universal access to sustainable energy by 2030 is a key social objective, and we firmly believe that it can be achieved. The energy transition taking shape globally offers tremendous opportunities to meet this challenge. »

Gérard Mestrallet, Chairman of the Board of Directors of ENGIE
Gerard Mestrallet

« Universal access to sustainable energy by 2030 is a key social objective, and we firmly believe that it can be achieved. The energy transition taking shape globally offers tremendous opportunities to meet this challenge. »

Access to energy for all, a springboard for deprived communities

Autonomous off-grid technologies not connected to centralised networks bring light to deprived rural villages. Photovoltaic panels are fitted to the roofs of shanty towns. Portable solar lamps allow children to continue their homework after dark. These are all examples of innovative initiatives supported by the ENGIE Foundation, in partnership with NGOs, charities or local businesses.

Biodiversity awareness key to sustainable growth

While access to energy for all is essential for development, such development can only be sustainable if it respects our environment. With this in mind, the ENGIE Foundation is committed to projects aimed at creating harmony between people and nature and making us all more aware about issues of biodiversity conservation and global warming.

The projects are varied and ambitious, ranging from an ecological farm in Morocco, permaculture on the outskirts of Paris through to raising awareness among migrants in Thailand about sustainable energies and environmental protection.

Click on the image to zoom
See our projects

Our latest projects

Dans le monde, 1,3 milliard de personnes n’ont pas accès à l’énergie. Est-il cependant raisonnable de développer l’accès à l’énergie pour tous, dans un contexte où les équilibres écologiques et la biodiversité sont aujourd’hui menacés ?

Pour la Fondation ENGIE, la réponse ne fait pas de doute : oui, l’énergie est un droit pour tous ! Car sans énergie, il n’y a pas d’accès à l’eau potable, pas d’écoles, pas d’hôpitaux, pas ou peu d’activité économique.

Mais ce déploiement de l’énergie pour tous ne peut se faire sans conscience écologique. Pour préserver l’environnement, il est indispensable de privilégier des sources d’énergies propres… et de sensibiliser les citoyens aux enjeux environnementaux. C’est tout le sens de l’engagement de la Fondation ENGIE en faveur de l’accès à l’énergie pour tous et de la biodiversité.

Transition énergétique

Transition énergétique

Women energy

Women energy

Aide au développement

Aide au développement

Lutte contre le réchauffement climatique

Lutte contre le réchauffement climatique

Innovation

Innovation

Partenaires historiques et projets emblématiques

La Fondation ENGIE travaille en étroite collaboration avec des ONG, institutions ou associations intervenant dans le domaine de l’accès à l’énergie pour tous et de la biodiversité.

Elle est ainsi présente depuis 2010 au Bangladesh, où elle permet à l’ONG Friendship d’installer des panneaux solaires dans les villages du Brahmapoutre. Au Chili, avec l’ONG Positive Planet, elle donne accès à l’électricité dans les bidonvilles de Santiago. Avec La Voix De l’Enfant, la Fondation ENGIE a lancé le projet emblématique « Schools, lights and rights ». Ce projet est déployé auprès des enfants dans neuf pays, dont six en Afrique.

Côté environnement, la Fondation ENGIE est notamment partenaire depuis plus de 10 ans du Muséum national d’histoire naturelle. A ce titre, elle a par exemple signé en 2015 un contrat de mécénat exclusif avec le Musée de l’Homme autour du Balcon des Sciences (centre de recherche dédié aux relations Homme – Nature) ou lancé un appel à projets auprès de chercheurs sur la résilience des sociétés face au changement climatique.

L’accès à l’énergie pour tous et la biodiversité en chiffres

• 13 300 lampes solaires distribuées en deux ans
• 20 écoles électrifiées en 2016-2017
• 650 dispositifs off grid installés au Bangladesh
• 10 jardins participatifs, fermes écologiques ou parcs éco-responsables créés

« L’accès universel à une énergie durable pour tous d’ici à 2030 est un objectif social essentiel. Nous avons une conviction : il est atteignable. La transition énergétique qui se dessine à l’échelle mondiale offre de formidables opportunités pour répondre à ce défi. »

Gérard Mestrallet, président du conseil d’administration d’ENGIE
Gerard Mestrallet

« L’accès universel à une énergie durable pour tous d’ici à 2030 est un objectif social essentiel. Nous avons une conviction : il est atteignable. La transition énergétique qui se dessine à l’échelle mondiale offre de formidables opportunités pour répondre à ce défi. »

L’accès à l’énergie pour tous, un tremplin pour les populations déshéritées

Les technologies off grid, autonomes et déconnectées des réseaux centralisés, permettent ainsi d’apporter la lumière à des villages déshérités. Les panneaux photovoltaïques équipent les toits des bidonvilles. Grâce aux lampes solaires portables, les enfants peuvent continuer leurs devoirs une fois la nuit tombée. Autant d’exemples d’initiatives innovantes soutenues par la Fondation ENGIE, avec des ONG, associations ou des entrepreneurs locaux.

La sensibilisation à la biodiversité, indispensable pour une croissance durable

Si l’accès à l’énergie pour tous est indispensable pour assurer le développement, celui-ci ne peut être durable que dans le respect de notre environnement. Forte de cette conviction, la Fondation ENGIE s’engage en faveur de projets visant à réconcilier l’Homme avec la Nature et à sensibiliser chacun d’entre nous aux enjeux liés à la préservation de la biodiversité et au réchauffement climatique.

Ferme écologique au Maroc, permaculture aux portes de Paris, sensibilisation de migrants en Thaïlande aux énergies durables et à la protection de l’environnement… : les projets sont variés et ambitieux.

Cliquez sur l'image pour zoomer
Voir nos projets

Nos derniers projets